The Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Public Works and Government Services and Minister for Status of Women, today (Feb. 4) met with a group of entrepreneurs and industry leaders from across Canada who will use their private sector expertise to select the recipients of funding under the Canadian Innovation Commercialization Program (CICP).

Innovacorp's vice president of investment, Ben Forcier, is a selection committee member.

This new, $40-million program was created by the Government of Canada to help kickstart businesses and get their innovative products and services from the lab to the marketplace. Successful companies will see their pre-commercial products and services tested by participating government departments.

"Small- and medium-sized enterprises are the engines of the economy and this program will help Canadian businesses who need extra support in getting their products to the marketplace," said Minister Ambrose. "With the work being done today, we are one step closer to announcing the first group of companies who will take part in the program."

The selection committee is in the final stage of evaluation of the CICP proposals received following the first Call for Proposals in November 2010. The selected proposals from this first round will soon be announced.

The committee members met in person for a full-day session to review and recommend eligible projects. Members of this committee were chosen based on their experience in investment and entrepreneurship; knowledge of innovation and commercialization trends; and knowledge of international business practices.

The CICP is managed by PWGSC's Office of Small and Medium Enterprises (OSME), whose mandate is to improve accessibility to government procurement opportunities for small and medium enterprises.

For more information, please visit WWW.BUYANDSELL.GC.CA/INNOVATION or look for upcoming Calls for Proposals onWWW.MERX.COM. The CICP team can be reached by email at INNOVATION@PWGSC-TPSGC.GC.CA or by calling the toll-free line at 1-800-811-1148.

The Innovation Selection Committee Members are:

Lanis Anthony - Chair of the Saskatchewan Angel Investor Network (SAINT) and Vice Chair of the National Angel Capital Organization (NACO)
Bernd Christmas - Lawyer, Bernd Christmas Law Group
Byron Dawe - President, Rutter Technologies
Andrea Feunekes - Co-CEO, Remsoft
Benoit Forcier - Vice President, Investment, Innovacorp
Guy Gervais - President, HumanID Technologies
W. Brett Wilson - Chairman, Prairie Merchant and Chairman, Canoe Financial
Helen Braiter - Director, Strategic Initiatives and Innovation, Public Works and Government Services Canada
Patti Pomeroy - Director General, Planning and Customer Relations Division, Industry Canada
Paul Pulsifer - Deputy Director General, Defence Research and Development Canada




For more information, contact:

Office of the Honourable Rona Ambrose
Rebecca Thompson
Public Works and Government Services Canada
Media Relations

Ottawa, Ontario, February 4, 2011