Innovacorp today announced the list of Nova Scotia start-up companies moving on to round two of the I-3 Technology Start-Up Competition.

“I’m very inspired by the vibrancy of Nova Scotia’s entrepreneurial ecosystem. Throughout the province, I’ve had the privilege of meeting capable entrepreneurs in every sector,” said Clifford M. Gross, president and CEO of Innovacorp. “We are grateful for the participation of all the I-3 competition entrants, and we extend our congratulations to the finalists in each region.”

The following I-3 participants from across Nova Scotia have been invited to compete in round two of the competition:

Zone 1 (Cumberland, Colchester, Pictou, Antigonish and Guysborough counties)

Gamertag World Inc. – Alexander Julien, Christopher Googoo, Keith Julien Sr. – Millbrook
GMS Surface Tech Ltd. – Gerrard Marangoni, Kulbir Singh, Joe Menchefski – Antigonish
Pearl & Daisy Natural Soap Company Inc. – Rebecca Taylor – Londonderry
Water Drills International Inc. – Jim Proudfoot, Lynn Christie – New Glasgow
znanja – Tim Houston, Jim Fitt – New Glasgow

Zone 2 (Lunenburg, Queens, Shelburne and Yarmouth counties) – Ian Grant – Bridgewater
Helix Media Publishing – Kirsten Tomilson, Christopher Zimmer – Lunenburg       
Prometheus Solar Technologies Ltd., Lunenburg Foundry & Engineering Ltd. – Peter Kinley – Lunenburg
Van Dyk Specialty Freezing Innovations – Peter Van Dyk, Jeannie Van Dyk, Charles Van Dyk – Caledonia
Ventgrid Inc. – Gord McPherson, Andre Veinotte – Chester

Zone 3 (Digby, Annapolis, Kings and Hants counties)

Buzzer Apps Mobile Solutions – Andrew Smiley, Andrew Postma, Lisa Cinnamon, Grant Carstenson – Newport
Laser GeoDataNet – Chris Hopkinson – Middleton
Local Information Utility – Trevor Robar, Perry Skipton – Middleton
Phero-Innovation – Kirk Hillier – Wolfville
The Bait Savour – Vince Stuart – Meteghan Centre

Zone 4 (Halifax Regional Municipality)

DeNovaMed Inc. – Christopher McMaster, Donald Weaver, David Byers – Halifax
Densitas – Mohamed Abdolell, Tim Burke, Michael Lee – Halifax
Mindful Scientific Inc. – Donald Weaver, Christopher Barden – Halifax
NewCo Scientific – Michael Barr – Halifax
Rent Donkey – Duncan Enman – Halifax

Zone 5 (Victoria, Cape Breton, Inverness and Richmond counties)

Blackrock Electronics – Chris O'Connor – Black Rock
Envidity Inc. – Jeff Brookman, Sandy Laing, Henry Scheil – Calgary
J&K Scientific Inc. – Krishnat Naikwadi – Edwardsville
MediaSpark Inc. – Mathew Georghiou – Sydney
Synergy Memory Solutions – Todd Mercer – Sydney

For brief descriptions of the 25 companies, CLICK HERE.

Entrepreneurs selected to move on to round two are required to submit a full business plan by December 15, 2011, to be reviewed by the six-person judging committee in each zone.

Zone winners will be announced on January 26, 2012. Each zone winner will receive $100,000 in cash and in-kind business building services, with the second-place zone winners getting $40,000 in cash and services. Award packages will include business building services in the form of marketing, accounting, sales, and legal expertise from the I-3 COMPETITION PARTNERS.

At the end of the competition, one provincial winner will be selected from among the five first-place zone winners, and awarded a $100,000 seed investment from Innovacorp. That announcement will be made at an awards event on February 8, 2012.

In total, the 2011-2012 I-3 competition attracted 142 FORMAL SUBMISSIONS from across Nova Scotia, far exceeding Innovacorp’s goal of 100 submissions.

For more information, please contact:

Dawn House
Marketing & Communications
424.8670 x 1189
456.9705 (mobile)

Shelley Hessian
Incubation & Entrepreneur Programs
424.8670 x 1123

Halifax, Nova Scotia, November 8, 2011