Innovacorp today announced the list of Nova Scotia start-ups moving on to round two of the I-3 Technology Start-Up Competition.

“We were incredibly impressed by the caliber of submissions we received this year from across the province and across a variety of technology sectors,” said Stephen Duff, president and CEO of Innovacorp. “It made for very challenging work for the judges in each of the five I-3 zones. We are grateful for the enthusiasm and participation of all the I-3 competition entrants, and we offer our congratulations to the finalists in each zone.”

The following I-3 participants from across Nova Scotia have been invited to compete in round two of the competition. In addition, these companies now automatically qualify for the competition’s sector-specific awards.

Zone 1 (Cumberland, Colchester, Pictou, Antigonish and Guysborough counties)

Extrify – Jim Fitt, Peter Bennett – New Glasgow
Health QR Inc. – Patricia Ryan, Michael Fanning – New Glasgow
Pearl & Daisy Natural Soap Company Inc. – Rebecca Taylor – Debert
SONA NanoTech – Gerrard Marangoni, Kulbir Singh – Antigonish
Thinking Robot Studios Inc. – Kendall Joudrie, Vladislav Raykov, Jourdan Dakov – Truro

Zone 2 (Lunenburg, Queens, Shelburne and Yarmouth counties)

CelluFuel Inc. – Chris Hooper – Brooklyn
Intelligent Dynamics Canada Ltd. – Baruch Pletner – Jordan Falls
LaHave Forests Inc. – Liam Tayler, Simon Fineman, Logie Cassells – Blockhouse
Ocean Executive Inc. – Mikel Budreski – Bridgewater
QNova Precision Battery Evaluation Inc. – Chris Burns, David Stevens, Tim Hatchard – Hebbville

Zone 3 (Digby, Annapolis, Kings and Hants counties)

CoastalForge Inc. – David Pratt, Christian Becker, Mital Vora – Kingston
Delicious Brains Inc. – Brad Touesnard – Milford Station
Fenol Farm Inc. – Sherri McFarland – Mount Uniacke
InTheSpot Technologies Inc. – Ted Iannuzzi – Wolfville
Unified Software Technologies Inc. – Laurie Perrin, Layton Perrin – Wolfville

Zone 4 (Halifax Regional Municipality)

Atlantic Motor Labs Inc. – Braden Murphy – Halifax
DraftCAM* – Megan McCarthy – Halifax
Enginuity Inc. – Alastair Trower, Benjamin Garvey, Orlando Hung – Halifax
Spring Loaded Technology – Chris Cowper-Smith, Shea Kewin, Bob Garrish – Halifax
Treventis – Sultan Darvesh, Christopher Barden, Mark Reed, William Wong – Halifax
(In late December, the Zone 4 judges invited DraftCAM to join the Top 25 after THE ROUNDS withdrew from the competition to focus on other business milestones.)

Zone 5 (Victoria, Cape Breton, Inverness and Richmond counties)

Breton SmarTek – Ian McVicar, Ken Grisham, Stephanie Timmer – Sydney
Heimdall Networks – Jim DeLeskie – Sydney
Natural Ocean Products Inc. – Tim Cranston, Jim Kennedy – North Sydney
SkySquirrel Technologies Inc. – Stephane Sogne, Tim Stekkinger, Richard Van der Put – Cap Le Moine
Stomp Labs Inc. – Jeff Slipp – Sydney

For brief descriptions of the 25 companiesCLICK HERE.

Entrepreneurs selected to move on to round two are required to submit a business overview by December 20, 2013, to be reviewed by the six-person judging committee in each zone. In January 2014, the entrepreneurs will make oral presentations to the judges.

Zone winners will be announced on January 27, 2014. Each zone winner is awarded $100,000 in cash and in-kind business building services, with the second place zone winners taking home $40,000 in cash and services. (Check out our GENEROUS IN-KIND PARTNERS.) New this year are cash awards of $25,000 for the best overall submission in information and communications technology, life sciences, clean technology, and oceans technology.

An overall provincial winner, selected from the five zone winners, will receive an additional award of $100,000 in seed investment from Innovacorp. That announcement will be made at an awards event on February 12, 2014.

In total, the 2013-2014 I-3 competition attracted 228 FORMAL SUBMISSIONS FROM ACROSS NOVA SCOTIA, far exceeding Innovacorp’s goal of 150 submissions. (A special shout out to our tireless volunteer judges!)

For more information, please contact:

Stephanie Shaw
T 424.8670 x 1197
M 220.3686

Halifax, Nova Scotia, November 15, 2013